How a Physics teacher had a light bulb moment and created a new invention

A piece of stationery which will enhance student learning

Drawing the best fit line by Miles Hudson Drawing the best fit line by Miles Hudson
Give us a little bit of a background about you
Whilst I am a physics teacher by trade I have my fingers in a few pies making my career history rather fractured so I can indulge my love of travelling. I like to jet off whenever I can, which makes taking on a full time teaching job rather difficult. Before starting my current part time role as a PGCE tutor of secondary Physics at Newcastle University in the UK – my last actual ‘school’ job was over three and half years ago and during that break I have been doing freelance work allowing me to travel to over twenty five countries.  Three or four of these have been on paid work assignments but the rest - just me and my rucksack!

What is the type of paid work you have done abroad?
I was lucky to get an introduction to the British Council in France a few years ago.  Originally they asked me to run astronomy workshops in French schools but more recently I seem to be the guy they send anywhere - which is fantastic for me as this satisfies my travel bug as I get to go to places I may never have thought of. When I am not on work assignments abroad I try to find other work that allows me to travel at my own expense. For example I have worked for some British and Swedish publishers doing things like editing of text books – all of which I can do from my laptop anywhere in the world I choose to be.

Tell me about your invention
It was literally a light bulb moment.